Back in the Swing of Things

So, my cold has finally broken which I couldn’t be more relieved about! It also means I owe you a blog entry! I didn’t to to work yesterday as I was feeling very ill but I’m in today. It’s been raining hard and nonstop all morning, the water outside is ankle deep so I’ll be here for a while!

I went on Wednesday during lunch to a dressmaker who measured me for two dresses. I’m really excited to have some custom made dresses. She said they will be ready before I leave for home and I sure hope they will be. It’s all about networks here, there was no yellow pages to find her in. The woman who runs a chop bar by my work told us that her sister makes dresses, so she sent us in a shared cab to Medina market where her son found us and took us to the woman’s house. I would never have discovered it on my own!

There are no garbage cans here. None. People just throw their garbage into a gutter or onto the street. I discovered the garbage system here last weekend during my early morning foray to the bus station. Early in the morning the roads are swarming with cleanup crews made up of women who use handmade brooms to pick up or sweep the garbage to some undetermined location. Then, the process repeats. I guess, much like the people who put mud into potholes on the roads the labour is cheaper here than the infrastructure to put garbage cans on every corner and keep them there.

This weekend I’m hoping to get to Medina market and hopefully buy some of the beautiful Ghanaian fabric as well as avoiding the mass amount of pickpockets at Makola market, we will see!

One response to “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. I’m glad to hear you are feeling better. Being sick when you are travelling is always hard.

    I’ll look forward to seeing your custom-made dresses when you return to Canada.

    That’s very odd about the lack of garbage cans. Here in Canada we have had it drummed into us since childhood not to litter.

    This is such an adventure you are having!

Leave a comment